General Awareness Questions

Q.  The two forms of democracy are

a. Parliamentary and King
b. Monarchical and Republican
c. Direct and Indirect
d. Parliamentary and Presidential

ANSWER: See Answer
There are two major forms of democratic government.
I. Parliamentary
II. Presidential
The citizens elect the leaders in a democratic government.
The main difference is the legislative and executive branches.
Executive - head of government
Legislative - how laws are made
I. Parliamentary democratic government : (example - United Kingdom )
1. Parliament = Legislature (Laws)
2. Parliament controls the power
3. Head of government is a prime minister chosen by the legislature
4. Prime minister and cabinet are members of the legislature
5. Prime minister answers to the legislature (fusion of powers)
6. The government will stay in office for a specified period unless the prime minister loses the support of the majority on an important vote.
7. If this occurs- the P.M. must resign and elections are held immediately
II. Presidential democratic government : (example - United States of America)
1. The executive and legislative branches are separate bodies elected independently by the citizens.
2. Separation of Powers
3. There are checks and balances where each branch can overrule the other.
4. The president answers to the voters, not the legislature.
5. The people elect the president, and elections are held at set intervals..


Post your comment / Share knowledge